Facebook and Lent!

facebook1

Alright, I have a confession to make. A few days ago, I have decided to give up Facebook for Lent. I thought it would be easy and a good idea since I spend a few hours going and coming back to check it. Since I’m writing this post, you may well know by now that I have failed to do so. I admit I am weak to resist!

I have spent the first three days of Lent without logging into the social network. The thing is, I felt so isolated from the world. We have reached an era where there’s no communication except through social networks.

What came to my mind is how our great grandfathers have lived without the digital technologies by which we are surrounded today. I cannot imagine myself without a mobile (thank God I don’t have a smartphone!) or a computer connected to the Internet. Maybe because I’m far from home but if we come to think of it, we are living in a disastrous age. Think for example if the electricity went off for a few days for some reason. How would you do your job, cook, or even clean!

What really disgusts me is when you see a couple or just two random friends sitting by each other and commenting on each others posts. What is the point of being together?

Everything has become much more complicated in the past decade or so. We have reached a stage of being under control of the freaking technologies. Keep in mind the amounts of data being collected on each and everyone using these digital technologies. Who they are, where they go, what they like/dislike, and even what they think!

If this is what we’re living in now, think about the lives of our great grandchildren. Would the science fiction films come to reality? Would they be flying their cars or sitting the whole day doing their work from home with a robot serving them? Or think about the Matrix, would these machines have a mind of their own where they would win World War III?

I don’t want to be pessimistic, but Lent is the perfect time for us to give up something we use everyday and “can’t” live without! Something ‘technological’ let’s say. For “it is written, ‘One does not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God'” (Matthew 4:4). The ‘bread’ of our time can be interpreted as all the technological devices, I think! I don’t want to sound so religious, but in order to know the value of something, giving it up is the best way.

To what extent is Facebook or other social networks or even technologies are controlling your life?

Leave a Reply

